Skip to content

At Home in the Twisting Nether

December 5, 2009

My home World of Warcraft server is US-Twisting Nether. It is a PvP/RP/PvE server, which makes for a strange and complicated relationship between guilds, players, and raiding. I proudly play Alliance and I take my PvP deaths as they come since Horde have the strong majority. As a Discipline priest, I have the luxury of living longer than most in the open world.  My warlock has a more intimate relationship with death and accepts her mortality with the grace of any other sprawled corpse.

I can honestly say that the Alliance faction of TN lacks overall focus in all three areas of gameplay. I don’t think anyone from home will disagree with me. Griefers harass the roleplayers. Roleplayers don’t know when to quit. PvP junkies make life a living hell for those who are leveling or who just want to raid. We still lose Wintergrasp on offense during the daytime. Raiders snub the rest of the world for not being up to par, even when they can’t get anything accomplished themselves. Trade chat is filled with fledgling guilds offering opportunities in all three venues. Truth is: it doesn’t work that way. Unless a guild focuses on a single attribute of the game, it can’t organize itself enough to accomplish anything. Thus our server is broken into raiding guilds, PvP guilds, RP guilds, leveling guilds, and social guilds, each with varying degrees of casual or serious expectations. The players go where their hearts lead them and then struggle to take part in the other aspects of the community too. It’s a lot to balance.

Even though we’re a little scatter-brained, we have extraordinary players and personalities. We have Tenj. The Wandering Tavern always has something interesting going on. The Dusk Watch keeps an eye on the city borders. And we have the honor of two to three hardened Alliance raiding guilds that are elitist, determined, and successful. While the rest of us might not be invited on raid nights, we are happy to see them snagging all the server firsts before the bloated Horde guilds are able to squeeze in the door.

Personally, I’m a late bloomer when it comes to video games, and Wrath was my first experience with WoW or MMOs. I have a live-in tank that I work hard to keep happy both in game and out. And I have a generous healy friend who took me under his wing  once I stepped out of PvP-land. I’ve been a bit sheltered. But I still earned most my experience the hard way.

I hit 80 (twice) and learned to play WoW in Fordragon Imports, a fiesty PvP/RP guild that took the server by storm. My warlock was a summoning mule that excelled in fixing the STV Fishing Tournament and really nothing else since Destruction wasn’t raid viable yet. My Discipline priest learned to heal while defending ourselves in aerial combat. We hosted firework filled weddings for the brave people who volunteered to let us, held bake sales in Ironforge, and slaughtered the Grim without mercy. FDI lived through its prime and a bit past when it should have, then died a swift death when the faction change hit. Go figure.

Since then, my game play has become more refined as I moved up in the raiding world and discovered the thrills of keeping up with the newest content while watching your name bump up the ranks of the gear lists. As I was too terrified of serious raiding guilds to join one, I had to gear up by joining LFM raids on my own or with my tank in tow. Looking back, life would have been so much easier if I’d just joined a raiding guild right away and been carried. But I wouldn’t be as strong of a healer or a player as I am now. My current guild took me in mid-way, putting me on tank heals for ToC 10 when the Crusaders’ Coliseum first opened.

It’s been a long road, but I enjoy it. My disc priest runs 10 man ToC and ToGC with my guild. She attends the Wandering Tavern RP event every few weekends, defends her local city when she’s in town, and kicks ass in battlegrounds when I’m feeling mean.

For the rest of my time, I rely on PuGs, either joining them or leading them, to keep my warlock up to par with the latest content and to run 25 man content on my priest. I try to take some time out to help a struggling group and give back to a community that has helped me in the past. I have a healthy respect and disdain for PuGs. They bring out the best and the worst in players. Lately, I am thinking that finding the wonderful players is worth sorting through the bad ones.

From → PvP, Raiding, Roleplaying, TN

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

